the books of the minor prophets

The Minor Prophets

The Minor Prophets are a collection of twelve books in the Old Testament of the Bible that are grouped together because of their relatively short length compared to the Major Prophets. These books are Hosea, Joel, Amos, Obadiah, Jonah, Micah, Nahum, Habakkuk, Zephaniah, Haggai, Zechariah, and Malachi.

Despite their shorter length, the Minor Prophets are no less important than the Major Prophets in their message and impact. These books contain powerful messages of judgment, warning, and hope, and offer insights into the nature of God and humanity that are just as relevant today as they were thousands of years ago.

the book of hosea


Witness the prophetic message of love, faithfulness, and redemption in the Book of Hosea. This poignant book portrays God's enduring love for His unfaithful people and calls for repentance and restoration.

the book of joel


Listen to the urgent call to repentance and the promise of God's restoration in the Book of Joel. This prophetic book speaks of a coming day of the Lord, emphasizing the importance of turning to God with sincerity of heart.

the book of amos


Confront social injustice and religious hypocrisy through the prophetic words of Amos in the Book of Amos. This book challenges the prevailing attitudes of the time and calls for genuine righteousness and compassion for the marginalized.

the book of obadiah


Discover the prophetic message of judgment and restoration in the Book of Obadiah. This short book delivers a powerful message against the Edomites, emphasizing God's justice and the ultimate triumph of His people.

the book of jonah


Follow the reluctant prophet Jonah as he learns the importance of obedience and God's compassion in the Book of Jonah. This book tells the story of Jonah's journey to Nineveh and the unexpected outcome of his message of repentance.

the book of micah


Explore the prophetic message of justice, judgment, and hope in the Book of Micah. This book challenges social injustice and calls for a return to true worship and righteousness.

the book of nahum


Experience the prophetic message of judgment and the fall of Nineveh in the Book of Nahum. This book reveals God's sovereignty and justice over powerful nations and emphasizes the need for repentance and faithfulness.

the book of habakkuk


Join the prophet Habakkuk in his struggle to understand God's ways in the Book of Habakkuk. This book addresses the problem of evil and injustice and emphasizes the importance of faith, trust, and hope in the midst of difficult circumstances.

the book of zephaniah


Listen to the prophetic message of judgment and restoration in the Book of Zephaniah. This book warns of impending judgment, calls for repentance, and offers hope and salvation to the remnant who seek the Lord.

the book of haggai


Rebuild the temple and renew your commitment to God in the Book of Haggai. This prophetic book calls for a return to true worship and obedience, emphasizing the importance of prioritizing God's kingdom.

the book of zechariah


Enter the visionary world of Zechariah and discover the prophetic message of the coming Messiah and the restoration of Jerusalem. This book reveals God's faithfulness and love for His people and emphasizes the need for repentance and faithfulness.

the book of malachi


Reflect on the prophetic message of judgment and renewal in the Book of Malachi. This book exposes the religious corruption and spiritual apathy of the people, calls for repentance, and anticipates the coming of the messenger of the covenant.

Overall, the Minor Prophets offer a rich and diverse range of prophetic voices that speak to the struggles and challenges of the human condition. They contain messages of hope and redemption alongside warnings of judgment, and offer insights into the nature of God and humanity that continue to inspire and challenge readers today.